+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Hollow Grind

Hollow Grind

Been meaning to ask the question, "if you hollow grind, why do you do it"? I do it because I use a Tormek and since it uses a wheel. . . Some will argue that because the edge is thinner the blade will dull easier. I'm not so sure. I believe it is dependent upon the hardness/temper of the blade. What say you?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  
    Share with Facebook  

Re: Hollow Grind

I'm no expert, but I'm inclined to say that given equal hardness/temper the hollow grind will wear faster.
    art

He who works with his hands is a laborer;
    he who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman;
    he who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.

St. Francis of Assissi
    Share with Facebook  

Quote Originally Posted by Johnboy View Post
    Some will argue that because the edge is thinner the blade will dull easier. I'm not so sure. I believe it is dependent upon the hardness/temper of the blade. What say you?
    Actually it has nothing to do with the hardness because your comparing one grind to another on the same chisel so the hardness will be a constant. On the same chisel a hollow grind may wear marginally faster than a flat grind, but in my mind it's not enough to worry about. However, if you've found a sharpening method you like that gives you good results, keep it. IMO, the most important thing about a sharpening method (other than that it works) is that it needs to be fast enough that you will do it consistently. If it's too big of a pain, then you tend to put it off until you absolutely have to. The point is to consistently have sharp chisels. If you let your chisel go dull because your sharpening method is a pain, then your method is no good. If your chisel stay sharp because you've got a workable method for you, then you're golden. I hope somewhere in my rambling I answered your question.
    Mark